"I didn’t want to make a fuss"

I spent a great afternoon with our Silver Surfers club in All Saints today.  They are a bunch of people who didn’t learn about computers at school, and who are now discovering that they can use laptops to write email, Skype, look at what places look like, shop etc etc.  As the name implies, they do a lot of web surfing, and they are (theoretically) retired – although most of them seem to fit more into the average day than I do.

The accumulated life experience in the room is well worth listening to, and I always learn something, and  generally laugh a lot too.  Most of the people have been coming since Christmas, and it’s amazing to watch them now, compared with the first few weeks when they were so scared they would break something.

But one lady who wears a splint on her right hand was struggling with the mouse today, so I asked if she’d prefer to use her left hand.  “Ooh, yes, I’m left handed!” she replied.  A few clicks of the mouse settings, a few minutes practice, and she was managing so much better than ever before.  I was ashamed.  It had never occurred to me to ask which hand she favoured, and when I apologised, she said “Don’t worry dear, I didn’t want to make a fuss about it”.  If I’d asked six months ago, she would have found things much easier.

It’s easy not to make a fuss.  Making a fuss is embarrassing.  Luke told of the lady who had been bleeding for 12 years – she didn’t want to make a fuss, she just wanted to be better.  Jesus singled her out unerringly.  The flip side is the Syrophoenecian woman in Mark 7 who made all the fuss she possibly could in an effort to save her daughter.  Jesus reached out to both women, to the one who made a fuss and the one who didn’t.  He met the needs of the one who didn’t care how embarrassed she should have been (because she was asking for someone else perhaps?) and to the one who was determined not to be noticed.

My lesson today is to look out for the people who don’t want to make a fuss, but have needs which I could meet, without me making a fuss either.

2 responses to “"I didn’t want to make a fuss"

  1. i think you do this already, although sometimes maybe the results are not obvious but you touch many people in a positive way! I know from expereince!! :))Karen

  2. I agree with Karen although I suspect I'd be one of the fussing having a tantrum women.
    Caroline

Leave a Reply

