More studying

I may be a glutton for punishment, but I’m just about to apply formally to study for a D.Min (that’s a professional Doctorate!).  I went to join the thrice-yearly seminar yesterday and today at the Gladstone Library in Hawarden, near Chester.  I can thoroughly recommend the place as somewhere to stay for peace, calm, good food and a library like that of Terry Pratchett’s Unseen University.  It may look gorgeous, but on first inspection has a brilliant array of church history and history books, not only those from Gladstone’s personal library, but much more up to date books too – I even recognised some that I own. (One day – The Revd Claire Library, with a tradition of strong coffee and excellent cake?  The Gladstone Library is there already!) 


The staff and students were inspirational, and I can”t wait to get started.  And there were connections everywhere, in every conversation.  I’m not yet sure what God wants me to do with all this, but if I carry on, I’m sure it will become clear.  


And for the next few days, pre-Ordination to the Priesthood retreat.  So there will be silence from me until early July.  No blogs, no tweets, no Facebook, just me, art materials, books, and walking boots.  Hurrah!

Leave a Reply

