Village Day

This morning it poured with rain.  Which was a shame – it was Village Day in one of our parishes.  That’s a day when all sorts of local organisations and businesses have stalls on the sports field.  It’s a great way to find out what is going on for newcomers, and a good place for many village networks to meet together.   I was amazed by how many stallholders and helpers I knew and it was lovely to see them.  Sadly, the rain meant we didn’t have many visitors, but Churches Together ran the tea and coffee provision.  We decided not to charge, but to ask for donations.  I have to admit I was surprised by people’s generosity.   But by the end of a fine afternoon, we made about £100.  We had fun doing it, and I was especially grateful to helpers.

It’s the start of my first week without a Training Incumbent, who is having a well deserved break.  I suspect I may be  a bit spaced out after 8am, 9.30, 11.15 Eucharists (one in each parish) and I haven’t really planned informal worship for tomorrow night – but is planning informality a contradiction?

Oh, and the Revd Family went off to see the last Harry Potter together, the end of an era.  Great time had by all – but it’s the first film I’ve seen in 3D and I felt very sea sick at times. It was a bit like endless Magic Eye pictures (if you are over a certain age, you’ll now what I’m talking about!)

So for now….early night.  Sweet dreams!

Leave a Reply

