Day 2 – Janathon

Excuses link here

IMG_1399

Weather – bit drizzly, but poly bag rendered my phone waterproof.

Food – “ran” before lunch so breakfast felt a long time ago

AFO – worn with normal walking shoes. This may have been a better idea. Thick socks helped, but plastic is rubbing a bit. Jury is out.

Route – a bit further along the cycle path

Dogshit – nil

Number of times nearly run over by cyclists irritated by me “running” on their path – one

Number of times cyclists politely dinged bells at me, enabling me to leap into undergrowth – one

Plan – follow Runkeepers very slow 20 minute interval plan with 5 min warm up.  60 s steady, 90 s slow (she hasn’t really got the hang of my exercise pace at all, poor woman. Gentle and snail is a bit more like it.  Actually I lie, my steady walk is faster than my knackered jog – is that normal?)
Distance 1.59 milesTotal time 25 min

Back/hip pain – better than yesterday, AFO has done its stuff.

Enjoyment – 8/10, loved hearing the 50hz hum in the rain of the 400 kV Lovedean-Nursling circuit.

Shower – hot

Smugness level – Maximum

Clerical collar – not worn

2 responses to “Day 2 – Janathon

  1. Ah, you need to follow my excuses link. AFO = ankle foot orthotic. It keeps my dropped foot in a right angle. I don’t have to wear it, but if I don’t for long I get hip/back problems.

Leave a Reply

