Bring on the extrovert

Suddenly today, my get up and go stopped getting up and going and came back with a spring in its step. This was good news, because I had two things to get done. The first was a funeral, with all the usual complexities, potential pitfalls, and paperwork to be negotiated. There was laughter, and there were tears, all was exactly as it ought to be. I went to the wake, was as ever recognised by the lovely lunchtime barman, who noted the “on duty” collar and passed me a coffee, and I chatted to people as the tears dried, the memories were shared and the laughter began.

But I had to leave to get to the second major thing of the day. Our community has a local radio station, one of the first to operate under a very local license, and they’d asked me to go along and record a “Thought for the day” for Sunday. I won’t lie, I was terrified. But it was surprisingly relaxed. In fact, talking into a radio microphone is a bit like writing a blog post, but with less typing. It wasn’t live, so I was able to make a complete horlicks of one bit (I didn’t mean to swear, it just happened) and rerecord it…..

I was taken by surprise at how I sound. I occasionally record sermons to see what I said, but I haven’t ever heard myself in normal speech so it was very odd. I am more mellifluous than I realised – and less Brummie too. Hearing myself as others hear me, as I spoke, was distinctly odd. But Kev did a great job of chatting about randomly mundane stuff (cold milk featured), and so I really did settle into it. I must have done OK because I’ve been invited back for a live interview in a couple of Sundays time – at 0715. Seven fifteen A.M. I must be mad. Or turning into a media luvvy.  I’ll be reviewing the Andover Advertiser next!

Bu there has been other stuff today. The chat in the post office, meeting a new dog, the chance to extend some invitations to people to come and join us – for courses, for toddler groups, for bacon butties. There has been a lot of #breadandbutterRectoring today – never mind the phone calls, the checking of old registers, the photocopying and collating of Orders of Service for Sunday’s Holy Communion with Baptism.

After a period of doing a lot of reflection, it has come as a relief to be out an about, doing what I’m meant to be doing. Meeting people, sharing the love, and pointing out what God might be up to. There’s nothing better.

Leave a Reply

