A Restoration Project

imageThat would be me. Crumbling round the edges, ripe for restoration. It’s been an intense few months, and I find myself once again at Gladstone’s Library in Flintshire, taking part in an academic seminar, working towards that professional doctorate. I’ve been coming here three times a year for three years for the same purpose, have another three years to go.

This time, for the first time ever,  I turned up and reported no progress. I’ve seen others do this, and now it’s me. Regular readers will know I’ve been doing a few odds and ends elsewhere, which have meant academia has been off the bottom of my list. No-one had berated me, people have listened, encouraged, suggested strategies and offered help. It all matters and I am grateful. I am, for now, restored.

2 responses to “A Restoration Project

  1. All I can say is that how on earth you’re managing to even think about a PhD while you’re still raising a family and in a busy active ministry is beyond me.

    I really hope that you get the time and space to move forward a little on this in the next few months. Perhaps you need a 20 year incumbency to help out 🙂

    • For me, reading and writing and learning are as necessary as fresh air in lonely places. It is another form of community, and coming up to Gladstone, sharing my work and hearing what others are doing is inspirational. A happy by product is that I might end up a Rev’d Dr!!

Leave a Reply

