Revelation

Hermeneutics

A terribly brief blog (more of a long tweet) to celebrate that I finally get why the Philosophy professor got so excited about my work on theological reflection methods and why they make me cross.

He talked me (with very little effort) into spending my MA year of my professional doctorate (so that’s year 3 out of 6) learning about the Phenomenological Hermeneutics developed by Hans Georg Gadamer, and seeing if I can apply what he says to theological reflection methods.

It would appear, having spent a few weeks finally doing some work (there was moving and a new job, remember?), that I really did manage to get to a very similar point to Gadamer from a very different starting place. Maybe, just maybe, there is a brain lurking in here after all.

Back to Writing Dissertation Words. Please pray for me!

 

(The picture explains why I got cross. No order or method!)

7 responses to “Revelation

  1. I’ve always wanted to explore what happens to our theological understanding when you apply Heisenberg’s Uncertainty Principle to reflective practice.

    Well done you.

  2. Pingback: The poor advocate fallacy | The Alethiophile·

  3. Or of course there is van Manen and a whole host of other hermeneutical phenomenologists and so forth – they are all variants on the total immersion and reflection method and merely serve to offer a set of ways of rationalising gut instinct and intuition or what we used to call the movement of the Holy Spirit. Or something? But it’s easy for me to say that….

    • Yes there are (she said, knowing she hasn’t checked!). BUT I am more concerned with the process/methodology by which we understand our own starting points, our inputs and reflective process, and our end point…..Theological Reflection mostly doesn’t seem to have had much conversation with hermeneutics, except in the contact of Bible study…

  4. Well, emeritus is derived from the Latin, meaning “for merit” or “thoroughly deserved”! Choose how, I have it in writing. And no, van Manen etc don’t really go into the choice of starting point though some discuss matters like ‘bracketing’ to remove bias etc, while others say to embrace your biases. Hunh. (Spell checker has not read the chapter of Gulliver’s Travels with the Hounhyhynym (and cannot help me with the spelling of that, though it ought to cos that ain’t right).).

Leave a Reply

