#Janathon – well below

Iimg_5407-1 am about to confound the expectations of at least one person, who was predicting today’s blog content.  However, I nearly always walk to school, so that doesn’t really count.  Instead, tonight I parked at the bottom of the hill and walked up to the meeting.  A nice brisk few minutes in slightly sub zero temperatures, and all was well as I worked my way up in a gentle cosy glow.  At the top there was a bright fire, excellent coffee, and future deanery synod* meetings to plan.

Cut to 9pm and I trotted down (actually I exaggerate. I was cautious, because the road had been wet, and was now covered in lovely sparkly frost). The air trickled down inside my nose and gentle froze me from the inside out.  I was most grateful not to have far to go, and was equally glad not to have to defrost the car. Minus 5 according to the car thermometer, and as I drove back across the Plain, it varied between minus 3 and minus 6. I’d better allow extra defrosting time tomorrow morning.

*if you *really* want to know, feel free to ask!

Distance: bottom to top and back, with a bit of added along

Pace: I wasn’t going to hang about, trust me!

Rector’s rating: 6/10 too short, but plenty of lung impact.

The photo is from this afternoon  because it was dark tonight. And I might make it align properly on the tablet!

 

3 responses to “#Janathon – well below

  1. I spent the best part of yesterday in Canterbury, meeting my SD, attended HC at my old parish and met up with friends from those days. Since my SD took that service it was a double bonus for praying with him twice in the morning, followed by a lovely quiet, soup lunch at his home.

    The sad thing was to meet S, a lovely lady, whose been suffering from Alzeimers disease for a year or so. In the month since we last met, she has become more confused and dependent. But brought to church by her daughter, she was able to follow the service with gusto and without the aid of a service book, respond appropriately – the familiar words and rythms haven’t left her, after a lifetime of Christianity.

    Sometimes I feel questions arising in my mind about dementia and how God can allow good people to suffer. The reality is that S still knows who she is, but has increasing short term memory issues which are frustrating for her husband, who is himself not well – and is her carer. My younger sister too suffers from this horrible disease and has been in residential care for the past three years – as her husband could no longer cope with her. She doesn’t recognise anyone at all, which has been a painful journey for him and her children.

    I know that God isn’t causing the suffering, which is a human condition, which medical science is making strides to help people in the future, but for those suffering now, there is so little hope. In S’s case, her church community have rallied around to help, but their friendship and support can only stretch so far. It appears that S may soon need to be provided with more support in respite residential care, and there is a very good unit in the village that does just that thing. When I was there, I had the privilege to take home communion to them and with prayer and some music, they despite their condition would remember the words of the BCP and the hymns we sang and join in.

    My day – some walking about 1/2 mile.

    Rating Lovely, mixed with Sad.

    Would I do it again – yes, next month in fact.

Leave a Reply

